Horse Racing
Alexis Badel and Vincent Ho complete world-class line-up for LONGINES IJC

24/11/2021 23:25

Alexis Badel and Vincent Ho join Zac Purton and Joao Moreira as Hong Kong’s representatives for the 2021 LONGINES International Jockeys’ Championship at Happy Valley Racecourse on Wednesday, 8 December.

Joining the roster for the second time in a row, Alexis Badel will look to better his joint-third placing in the competition last year (shared with Hollie Doyle) when he lines up in the event next month.

Badel’s 19 wins this campaign earned him the coveted spot which is available to the highest ranked rider in Hong Kong (excluding those already selected to compete) at the conclusion of this evening’s (Wednesday, 24 November) Happy Valley race meeting.

Vincent Ho – a graduate of the Hong Kong Jockey Club Apprentice Jockeys’ School – takes the final spot available as the leading homegrown rider. Ho snared the slot with 16 wins this term and he will feature in his fifth LONGINES IJC.

The HK$800,000 LONGINES IJC is a four-race competition for 12 elite jockeys, and this year’s edition features eight overseas riders and four based in Hong Kong, all battling for the HK$500,000 top prize, the most lucrative jockeys’ challenge winner’s cheque in the world.

The list of this year’s invitees for the LONGINES IJC was announced on 18 November, and against Hong Kong’s team of four is an exciting overseas cast, featuring Ryan Moore, James McDonald, Yuga Kawada, Tom Marquand, Hollie Doyle, Damian Lane, Mickael Barzalona and Lyle Hewitson.

Alexis Badel
Alexis Badel
Vincent Ho
Vincent Ho

List of invited jockeys for 2021 LONGINES IJC

  Jockey    Remarks   
Reigning IJC Champion    Zac Purton 2017 and 2020 IJC winner. Four-time Champion Jockey in Hong Kong (2013/14, 2017/18, 2018/19 & 2019/20). Brisbane Champion Jockey (2003 – when still an apprentice).   

Hong Kong Champion Jockey    Joao Moreira Four-time Hong Kong Champion Jockey (2014/15, 2015/16, 2016/17 & 2020/21) and multiple record holder including most wins in a season (170). Winner of the 2012 IJC.   

Australia    Damian Lane 23-time G1 winner. Winner of the Golden Slipper, Caulfield Cup and W.S. Cox Plate in the same year. Competing in first IJC this year.   

Britain    Ryan Moore Two-time winner of both the IJC (2009 & 2010) and LONGINES World’s Best Jockey Award (2014 & 2016). Three-time British Flat Racing Champion Jockey (2006, 2008 & 2009).

Britain    Tom Marquand British Champion Apprentice (2015).   

Britain    Hollie Doyle Set a new record for most wins by a female jockey in a British calendar year through 2021.
France    Michael Barzalona Teenage winner of the G1 Derby at Epsom in 2011 and has since enhanced his reputation, notably riding for Andre Fabre and Godolphin.   

Japan    Yuga Kawada 2019 World All-Star Jockeys champion. One of nine jockeys in JRA history to have won all five Classic races.

New Zealand    James McDonald Five-time Sydney Champion Jockey (2013/14, 2015/16, 2018/19, 2019/20 & 2020/21). Two-time New Zealand champion jockey (2008/09 & 2010/11). Second in 2011 IJC and third in 2014.   

South Africa    Lyle Hewitson Two-time South Africa Champion Apprentice (2016/17& 2017/18).   
Three-time South Africa Champion Jockey (2017/18. 2018/19 & 2020/21). Competing in first IJC this year.   

Hong Kong    Alexis Badel

Third-highest ranked Hong Kong jockey as of 24 November. France’s Champion Apprentice (2007)

Hong Kong    Vincent Ho

Hong Kong’s leading homegrown jockey as of 24 November. Hong Kong Champion Apprentice (2010/11). Best Freelance Jockey Award (2014/15). Three-time Tony Cruz Award winner 2018/19, 2019/20 & 2020/21.